Sierra Club Logo GLSierrans Image
Home|About GLS|Outings|Conservation|Join
About GLS
Who We Are
How We're Organized
Top 10 Reasons to Join GLS
Sierra Club links
Contact Us

The San Francisco Bay Area Gay & Lesbian Sierrans is an official activities section of the Bay Chapter of the Sierra Club. While we are a pretty freewheeling group on the hiking trail, we operate by a set of bylaws that we've developed over the years.

Every year in November, we elect a Governing Committee that organizes and oversees our activities. Current GovComm members include:

Chair: Russ Hartman: chair@glshikes.org
Treasurer: Pam LoPinto: treasurer@glshikes.org
Outings: Prudence Carter: outings@glshikes.org
Membership/E-communications: Jenna Slovis: membership@glshikes.org
Conservation: Ingrid Kreis: conservation@glshikes.org
Newsletter: Marsha Lowry: newsletter@glshikes.org
Publicity: Kelly Sandlin: publicity@glshikes.org
Website: Linda Campbell: website@glshikes.org

In addition, we create special committees as necessary, such as the Nominating Committee that recruits new members for the Governing Committee.

We currently have about 25 hike leaders, who volunteer their time and energy to research and lead our outings. Outings range from trips to museums and other cultural venues, to multi-night backpacking adventures.

We encourage anyone who's interested to become more involved in GLS. There are always a multitude of small tasks that need to be done. Plus, it's easy to become a member of GLS, or to become a hike leader. Please join us!

Home|About GLS|Outings|Conservation|Join
2008 Gay and Lesbian Sierrans, San Francisco Bay Area